Nine High courts Don’t Have Regular Chief Justices

Team SoOLEGAL 4 Dec 2017 4:07pm

Nine High courts Don’t Have Regular Chief Justices

Acting Chief Justices take over the responsibilities of the top judge of the State judiciary as a temporary arrangement.   

The Bombay High Court on Friday became the country’s ninth high court to have an acting chief justice in what is being described as an unprecedented situation amid a lingering stand-off between the judiciary and the government and intra-collegium differences.

There are 24 high courts in the country, which means nearly 40 per cent don't have a regular head now.

The President on Friday approved the appointment of the senior-most judge of Bombay High Court, Justice Vijaya Kamlesh Tahilramani, as the court's acting chief justice.

The other high courts that don't have full-time chief justices are those in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh; Calcutta, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala and Manipur.

The post of a high court chief justice is considered to be equivalent to that of a Supreme Court judge, both in terms of stature and salary.

Conventionally, only a senior-most judge of some other state is appointed as the chief justice of a high court to avoid any possible allegation of local bias in the allocation of work among judges.

An exception - that the senior-most judge of a court is appointed in the same high court as chief justice - is made if the judge concerned has less than a year to retire. [Source: The Telegraph]

Tagged: Chief Justices   High Courts   Bombay HIgh Court  
Did you find this write up useful? YES 0 NO 0
Digital Payment Systemview all

Active Members

Have you activated yours ?

New Members view all

C2RMTo Know More

Something Awesome Is In The Work









Sign-up and we will notify you of our launch.
We’ll also give some discount for your effort :)

* We won’t use your email for spam, just to notify you of our launch.