Lawstreet Journal

8th Petition Filed Against Places of Worship Act, Now Lt. Col. Anil Kabotra Reaches Supreme Court

Lawstreet Journal 7 Jun 2022 9:38pm

Image courtesy: Lawstreet Journal Judiciary 8th Petition Filed Against Places of Worship Act, Now Lt. Col. Anil Kabotra Reaches Supreme Court

A Public Interest Litigation (PIL) has been filed in the Supreme Court by a retired Army Officer and 1971 War-Veteran, Anil Kabotra, to challenge the constitutional validity of Sections 2, 3, and 4 of the Places of Worship (Special Provisions) Act 1991, which not only offends Articles 14, 15, 21, 25, 26, and 29 but also violates the principles of secularism, which is an integral part of the Preamble and basic structure of the Constitution.

The PIL has been filed through Advocate-on-Record Ashwani Kumar Dubey on behalf of the petitioner. The Ministries of Home Affairs, Law & Justice, and Culture have been made respondents in the said petition. Lt. Col. Anil Kabotra becomes the 8th petitioner in the Apex Court. 

The seven pending pleas against the Places of Worship Act, 1991 are pleaded by the following petitioners:

  1. Adv. Ashwini Upadhyay
  2. Subramanian Swamy
  3. Vishwa Pujari Purohit Mahasangh through Adv. Vishnu Jain
  4. Adv. Chandra Shekhar
  5. Guru Devakinandan Thakur
  6. Adv. Rudra Vikram Singh
  7. Swami Jeetendranand

The facts constituting cause of action accrued on 11.7.1991, when the impugned act came into force. By making the impugned Act, Centre has arbitrary created an irrational retrospective cut-off date, declared that character of places of worship shall be maintained as it was on 15.8.1947 and no suit or proceeding shall lie in Court in respect of disputes against encroachment done by barbaric invaders and law breakers and such proceeding shall stand abated. If suit /appeal/proceeding filed on ground that conversion of place of worship and pilgrimage… Continue Reading...

Tagged: Places of Worship Act   Anil Kabotra   Section 2   Section 3   Section 4   Article 14   Constitution of India   Article 226   Supreme Court of India   Ashwini Upadhyay   Subramanian Swamy   Adv. Vishnu Jain   Adv. Chandra Shekhar   Guru Devakinandan Thakur   Adv. Rudra Vikram Singh   Swami Jeetendranand  
Disclaimer: SoOLEGAL in Media collaboration with Lawstreet Journal. SoOLEGAL take no responsbility for the content provided by Lawstreet Journal. For any discrepancies Contact Lawstreet Journal.
Did you find this write up useful? YES 0 NO 0

C2RMTo Know More

Something Awesome Is In The Work









Sign-up and we will notify you of our launch.
We’ll also give some discount for your effort :)

* We won’t use your email for spam, just to notify you of our launch.

SAARTHTo Know More

Launching Soon : SAARTH, your complete client, case, practise & document management SAAS application with direct client chat feature.

If you want to know more give us a Call at :+91 98109 29455 or Mail